|Review| Revlon Ultimate All-in-One mascara

It has been awhile since my last post on a  mascara, my favourite go-to makeup product. After I was done with the last mascara I’d been using for three months, off to the drugstore I went to search for another wand that hopefully, won’t leave me disappointed this time. I was aware that I don’t really use Revlon products much, so I stood before the Revlon section, and a range of contrasting black-and-colour mascaras quickly caught my eyes. There are 5 different mascaras of black+blue, black+green, black+red, black+purple and black+pink packaging all to deliver different effects on lashes.

I picked up the black+red one; REVLON ULTIMATE ALL-IN-ONE mascara at about 15% less than it’s normal price of RM39.90 in Blackest Black. Packaging wise, I really love the non-traditional shape of the tube. It’s flatten as opposed to the usual cylinder mascara tubes, which makes storing of this product more effective. (doesn’t it annoy you when mascara or lipstick tubes roll off the table all the time?!) A part of the tube, the black one is velvety rubber so it leaves no visible fingerprints. Interestingly, the bristles (or mini brush, depending on the mascaras) matched the colour of the outer packaging so in my case, red Revlon Power Mini Brush™. Personally, I find this the most useless feature of any mascara. Honestly what is the point of having a coloured brush only to be dipped and darken by the product and leaves you no chance of seeing the red (or green, or blue, etc) at all? No, please don’t suggest me to wash off the brush just to ensure whether my mascara brush is, indeed red because seriously? Who in their right mind would do that?!

Okay, enough with my 2 minute rant. Now let’s move on to the product itself. Here’s what Revlon has to say about this 5-in-one multi-achieving mascara:

 • Our innovative, high-impact formula delivers 5 lash-transforming benefits, while our Revlon Power Mini Brush™ leaves no lash behind. Choosing the one has never been so simple.
• High impact formula delivers the ultimate 5 benefits in 1:
– Volume
– Length
– Definition
– Lift
– Intense Color
• Revlon Power Mini Brush™:
– Unique mini oval shape designed to reach every lash
– Hollow core designed to deposit formula for mega lash impact

After more than a month of using this mascara, I must say this one gem does deliver at least three of the five benefits promised. That is sincerely not bad at all for a multitasking mascara. I’ve been experimenting with enough mascaras to know that there is actually no such thing as multitasking mascaras, simply because different effects require different formulae. While one mascara can deliver fantastic lengthening effect, it fails to add volume to the lashes and vice versa. So “why ULTIMATE ALL-IN-ONE mascara if you’re such a smarty pants, Hanna?” Ah, I can hear your mind out loud. My answer is simple; curiousity. I’m always curious about how well can multitasking products deliver their 5, 10 or even 15 promises. *winks*

As a conclusion, REVLON ULTIMATE ALL-IN-ONE mascara is good enough for definition, adding a bit of volume and offers intense color (of Blackest Black for me). However, it doesn’t provide lengthening effect nor lift my lashes, especially with two of more coats so if you have straight lashes, you may need to curl your lashes prior to applying this mascara.

If you have used this mascara, or any other from this range please let me know what you think. Perhaps you could suggest me the other four mascaras I could try next time? Do let me know. Till then, enjoy this festive month!

Mascaras&Motherhood

4 thoughts on “|Review| Revlon Ultimate All-in-One mascara

Leave a Reply

